If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

It ain't half hot Mum

Skelton show day.   After prepping the Lodge I hurried out to Skelton to catch a bit of the show.   After my usual visit to the sheep and cattle lines, my first port of call, I watched the displays in the main arena.  I like the animals at Skelton they are always of such high quality, so the grand parade is a must.

The "concourse d'elegance" by the ladies on horsed back provided some interesting potential blips.  Then came the Stannage stunt team.   Well I am afraid as regard blip nothing else was going to get a look in.  I know that as far as film stunts go these were small fry.  The father (a stunt man) will do jumps from 300 feet.  The son jumped on fire from 50ft as high as the "cherry picker" would reach.  On to an air bag but still impressive.

The shot shows a young man who is in training doing a "Fire Run".  he ran slightly up hill for 50 or 60 yards with the "jacket" on fire.  The lady commenting, who had herself preformed this described the noise as being chased by a train.  

The extras show the lad face down as they started to use the fire extinguishes on him.  The second is the son taking off on a motorcycle jump, what that shot doesn't show is the "transit" type van parked way out of shot which he is going to clear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.