Wild Ground

I went as usual to Metheringham today. The weather was much cooler and at times I even thought it may rain. It hasn't!

My folks were OK. Before I got there, my dad had put a pan of beetroot on to boil and gone out into the garden. He started doing outdoor jobs, and completely forgot about the beetroot! Fortunately he caught it before it went on fire, but the pan was burnt black. I had to try to clean it of course! If it was mine it would have gone in the bin, but my folks are from that generation that never binned anything. I can remember that pan being a chip pan when I was very young - it would have been in the '60's, as my Dad took it with him as a saucepan in 1970 when he worked away in Norfolk! Who else still has a 50 year old saucepan?

So I soaked it in washing liquid and spent almost an hour scrubbing it! It is brighter than it's been in decades, my Dad said, and he'll get the last burnt flecks off by boiling some rhubarb in it!

I took this photo of what is often called waste ground, which I walked across to go to Tesco this afternoon.. I always call it the Wild Ground, as there are so many wild plants, butterflies, birds, insects and even rabbits living on it.

My elder son had some good news today, as he's been offered a job, and will start in August! I'm really happy for him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.