An Impromptu Outing

It was another hot day and I was home doing some gardening and cleaning. Thankfully I was rescued by a friend and neighbour who called me and asked if I wanted to go on an outing with her. She was heading to a village about 20 minutes away where she was going to a traditional butcher to buy some meat. I don’t buy very much meat and when I do it’s almost always from the supermarket but it’s always interesting to go to a traditional butcher. I’m a bit clueless on what to buy and how to cook it. I blame it on only cooking for myself most of my life.

After that errand was done we went to the nearby Herb Farm - which is a farm, a nursery, a gift shop and a cafe. I have been here before but probably not in over 20 years and it’s been much improved so I hardly recognised the place! What a beautiful place for an outing! We looked around a little bit but it was way too hot for much browsing or eating outside so we sheltered in the cool barn and enjoyed a pot of tea while sharing a cake and some lavender shortbread. There is also a maze, but too hot to get lost in it, so I will definitely be back.

Check extra photos for my front garden and my nod to American Independance Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.