Mimosa Seedlings

Mimosa's grown beyond dicotyledons,
no longer universal-looking plants.
Were their parents ever once this tiny?
They tremble every leaf bud at the chance
that each might one day grow to be a tree,
with fluffy yellow blooms to please a bee.

I'd like to shrink and walk beneath these branches'
floppy fingers filtering the sun.
How wonderful to wander in a forest,
however small, whose life has just begun!

© Celia Warren 2018


The seedpod I picked up off a hot, dry pavement, where it would have withered or been swept underfoot or -wheel. The Devon climate might just be warm enough for mimosa (I think my mother-in-law had such a tree for some years), but I'll try these in pots for starters, and protect them over winter. Might try one as a Bonsai. Meanwhile, with six tiny trees-in-the-making, I found a seventh seed had germinated today.

This is my offering for Tiny Tuesday. Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting the challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.