PlanW

By PlanW

This was my view from the dreaded chair in the chemotherapy unit.  I steangstr felt calm, not stressed or anxious, I hardly recognise myself.  All down to the PICC line.  I likened it to being an electric car at the services.  Drive in, plug in, go for a cuppa, charge up, unplug and drive away.  

Dr Pollyanna, the oncologist, told me the process would take 1-1.5 hours.  The nurses told me that was not the case, there is prep, process etc.  I arrived just after 10.00, had to resign the consent forms, got plugged in for some pre-drug-drugs, and then the show finally started at around 11.00.  

I'm having a cocktail abbreviated to FEC-T.  The first drug in was E, a short infusion, the smallest quantity, the most toxic drug allegedly.  The next drugs were F & C.  In total, they were all administered in about 55 minutes.  One to Dr Pollyanna. 

I felt exactly as I did before I went in, went home not knowing how I'd react and when. I'd read online about people feeling the drugs in their system, or having adverse reactions, anaphylactic shock etc.    Nothing dramatic for me but a strange situation in a world of new experiences.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.