lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

Went for a hike with my sister to the Grand Park on the north side of Mt. Rainier NP today.  The flowers are avalanche lilies and there were hundreds of them. The extra shows the "Grand Park" which is a huge meadow. Unfortunately, the clouds kept THE MOUNTAIN under cover all day so I don't have a fabulous photo of the green park under the peak. In any case, it was a wonderful hike, not too hard, had good conversations with my sister, and didn't even get one mosquito bite (and boy, there were thousands of those). I used DEET and the cool weather did seem to put a crimp in their activity (it was about 55 degrees and quite breezy up there in the meadow). Lupine, paint brush (a stunning pink color I've never seen before), glacier lilies, bear grass, phlox, and lots of different little yellow flowers. Might have to pick a sunny day in a few weeks to do it again, and see the peak of the flowers.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.