Roller Coaster

What a day!  Spent nearly three hours in Chelmsford High St, not least because of this guitarist, (from Spain I think, judging from his accent when I talked to him). Walking towards the railway station to collect my tickets for tomorrow's journey to Heathrow, I was utterly captivated and so stopped to listen to him for a while.  Later, on my way back, when he was still playing, I decided to have a snack lunch from Pret a Manger so I could sit outside and listen to him play, and thus enjoyed a lovely lunchtime concert in Chelmsford High St. Classics and Classical - Bach and Baroque, Tango, flamenco, clever arrangements of Beatles classics such as "Here, There and Everywhere" - all so sensitively and skilfully played. Exquisite, actually.  I could have stayed all afternoon. Not quite a free concert as I paid for my pleasure after talking to him for a while when he took a break, what a lovely musician. And I don't even know his name. I am not the only one who enjoyed his performance - others were continually stopping to listen, and some, like me, had an outside lunch to watch and enjoy his playing. 

Eventually had to leave of course, carpark only allowed 3 hours, and so I came home to pack for tomorrow's journey to Boston, but found that I couldn't as I was transfixed by Wimbledon - men's quarter final already underway. Lordy,  what a match. Point by point and utterly exhausting to watch, can't imagine what it was like to play.  Not quite so sorry now that I'll miss the men's final at the weekend.  What is Wimbledon without Roger?

An evening packing and preparation - never been to Boston, don't know what to wear or take.... distracted by the football, progress is slow. But now, it really is all over. So sorry England, especially after a cracking start.  I feel your pain boys. Feeling sad, and I don't even particularly like footie. 

What a day !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.