A long day

Paddington Station, as snapped during my Chelmsford to Heathrow journey today which took just a couple of hours to get me to Terminal 5 by 13.15, an easy and straightforward journey which is more than can be said for part two of my adventures. At check in for my 16.55 flight to Boston, I was told by the BA clerk that the plane had been changed for a smaller one and there may not be room for me, so, would I kindly wait "over there" with my luggage.  For the next three and a half hours I waited "over there" with a growing number of disgruntled folk. Repeated requests for information were met with "we have no information at this time' and on it went whilst others arriving much later seemed to be able to check in successfully..... 

Eventually, after increasingly frustrating conversations, I was finally checked in to the later 19.55 flight, but with no seat assigned.  At departures there followed a "random security search" and aggressive questioning from homeland security "I see you go to Turkey a lot m'am? -  why is that?" and then at the gate I learnt that I had a middle seat. Final straw.  I need to stand up a lot on a long flight and always choose aisle so I don't disturb folk.  Boarding, I have to say that cabin crew were delightful. They found me a roomy aisle seat at the back instead, where I proceeded to have a comfortable, spacious, peaceful uneventful flight and so nearly three movies later, landed in Boston feeling tired but calm. Here, security were very polite and welcoming, and no, I don't have any vegetables in my bag. Caitlin was waiting for me at arrivals and we got back to her sister's place a little before midnight local time (body clock time 05.00), where I was able to collapse for several hours of unconsciousness.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.