Busy walls

I got to admit Mildred, the billboards were a great idea. They were like a chess move. And although they had absolutely nothing to do with my dyin'... I will assume almost everyone in town will assume that they did. Which is why, for Willoughby's counter-move, I decided to pay the next month's rent on 'em. I thought it'd be funny, you having to defend them a whooole 'nother month after they've stuck me in the ground. The joke is on you Mildred.

Another breakfast at Bill’s. Just Matt and me. He’s dispirited.

The morning sessions cover some interesting ground and then we split into two streams - devs and the rest. It feels like a long day.

Matt and I ride the 205 down the hill. He gets off at Warren Street to meet his family. I go back to the flat, fling the windows open, chuck sheets in the washer, eat my tea, and watch a Blackadder documentary.

There are cheers and moans and oohs and aahs emanating loudly from the building next door, matching the unpredictable motions of a ball thousands of miles away.

This is a sort of home and I’m here already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.