Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

A mystery

I am not sure what is going on here.   I have blipped this fountain before.  It was designed by sculptor Margel Hinder and is in Civic park.  It is in a direct line from the Library behind it to the Town Hall which would be behind me as you are looking at the fountain.  The Art Gallery which is to the left of the library is coloured red.  The clock face in the Town Hall is also coloured red.  So we have red and blue but a google search has not revealed why they are coloured and I can see I will have to do some investigating.  It is Naidoc week (National Aboriginal and Islanders Day Observance Committec - a week which celebrates the history, culture and achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples) but it is the wrong colour for Aboriginal people who have the colours of this country, red yellow and black.

I might have to ask my friend who is a councillor next time I see her but at the moment it is a mystery. 

I might add the park was full of "colourful" people too.  There was one chap wandering around talking loudly to himself about "the power of the people" and a group of people with a banner and singing.  Unfortunately the banner was facing the wrong way so I had no idea who they were.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.