Downeast window on Machiasport

The only old, original window left after our rehab of the 1840s cape style home of my great grandparents. My favorite, not for the view, but for the nostalgia. My great grandfather was a jack of all trades, general store owner, Postmaster, teacher, insurance salesman, dabbler into law issues, and Democratic State Representative for this area for many years. He had his office in the little room between the kitchen and dining room(that room and the 'parlor' as they said in those days are now one great room after our renovations). I never met him, he died when I was almost 7. I first came here when I was 9. The little room had became my unmarried Great Aunt Abbie's office after her father died. She used it while serving as Town Clerk for many years. It now houses our washer and dryer with shelving. The window remains as the last reminder of the light shed on many important papers over the years.

First visit. Here I am at 9 next to my mother with Aunt Abbie(my maternal grandfather's sister) behind her. The other three are siblings of my grandmother's stepmother. We're outside their house on the South Lubec shore, near where my grandmother was born. Her mother died after her brother was born when she was only 2. Her father remarried when Nora(my grandmother) was 4, to a young woman only 16 years older than Nora. That woman, always known as Aunt Susie, lived to be 100, dying in 1977 when her stepdaughter Nora was 84. I did meet her once at the nursing home where she had lived for 10 years. 

For the Record,
This day came in sunny and warm, just perfect. We're doing some yearly household cleaning while we wait for a package delivery that needs to signed for. All the windows are open, the breeze off the water is lovely, a splendid day.

All hands happy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.