The Poss

By PossMan

New Software

I mentioned in last Thursday's blip that I was expecting a package. In the end I went to collect it from the carrier (UPS) on Friday morning. Their Inverness base is at Dalcross Industrial Estate next to the airport. The usual warren of these places. On the way back I noted one or two places which may be good for getting air traffic shots and to which I might return.
The package is Acrobat XI Pro (an update from version 9) and I'm already delighted with it. Most people will be familiar with the free reader (a fantastic piece of software in its own right which is too easily taken for granted) but in the days when I did indexing I decided it was worth investing in the full program. When I started indexing most publishers were happy to send the book as hardcopy pages printed on one side but later the norm was to send the book as a pdf file which I generally printed out but other indexers used to keep as an electronic copy working with either duel monitors or a split screen with their indexing software in the other half. Sometimes the whole process was made much easier by using the full Acrobat version which made it possible to do things with the publisher's copy that was not possible with the reader.
Upgrading was a bit of an extravagance but I'm working on a genealogy project and this afternoon was able to very quickly work out how to select 88 Word files (only a page each) and combine them into 1 pdf file. Simple - it worked like a dream. I'm sure achievable with what I had before but nothing like so straightforward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.