Super Softee

Today was school sports day and I was asked, as in previous years, to photograph some of the events.  I went this morning to photograph the long jump, triple jump, shot put and javelin, all of which take place in the same corner of the school grounds.  In the middle of it all, an ice cream van came trundling through on its way to the main field, where it set up for the afternoon.  I think he did good business:  there was a queue for ice creams all afternoon while the track events were going on.

This evening I went for a drink with a couple of colleagues who are leaving at the end of term.  This was arranged and booked long before we knew how the football world cup would progress, and we found ourselves in the middle of a crowd cheering and shouting at the TV screen, willing England on in their match against Croatia.  Their encouragement failed, unfortunately.  I am not a great fan of football, and I would never deliberately have chosen to be in a pub on the evening of a big match like this, but it certainly made for an interesting experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.