RAMONES

After the late night working I only woke up at 10 am, but felt fine. Finally a day off! I did check my emails on my phone and it looked quite busy! In that moment Callam phoned. Callam would never phone without a reason when I am off, so I took the call. I like Callam! 
We discussed a few things regarding my late night emails and I promised him to log on to sent him a file he needed. In the end I did clean my inbox and did a few things but then finally shut the laptop down.
It was somehow already after noon and Neil and I wondered what to do with the day. We knew we wanted to go to Friedrichshain later, to visit the Chapati shop and watch the football.
We postponed the Polaroid Exhibition to another day and took the U-Bahn to Schlesi, where we went to visit the RAMONES museum! It is in the back rooms of a bar. You pay either EUR 4.50 for the museum's entrance or 6 EUR and you get a drink with it. Once paid, you get a badge, which will serve as a lifetime entrance ticket to the museum.
The back room is small, but full with unique rock history. It took actually over an hour to take everything in, and then there would be still a lot for a second visit!! It was quite impressive what had been collected here. 
We enjoyed it! After a coffee in the bar we walked over the bridge to Friedrichshain. Chapati has sale and you get 2 items free when you buy 2! There was a lot of nice things there and it was hard to choose. The staff in all chapati shops is super nice, and a few of them we know already since a few years. I had finally decided on 4 items and wanted to get a 5th one, but Neil kept browsing and finding stuff! I changed felt 1000 times in the small storage room, as they have only 2 changing rooms. In the end I walked out with 8 (EIGHT) pieces!! 2 skirts, 2 tops and 4 dresses at an average price of 22 Euros each!! Usual price for dresses is 60-70 EUR. So some bargain! 
Let's hope that the heatwave in Glasgow carries on when we are back, so that I can wear them all.
The shop visit took until 8 pm and we missed the first goal of the English team. We walked along the bars and found a seat at a place called Habana. We had beer, cocktails and food there. I had a healthy bowl of fresh salad, which was very nice and filling. Next week I really have to get back on track and eliminate sugar, carbs and alcohol for a while. A lot bad habits crept in over the last weeks in Berlin. Staring of course out of medical reasons ..... ;)
Sad the England did not make it. Now Croatia needs to beat the French! That will be difficult!
After the game heavy rain started and we stayed in the bar until it got weaker. We had neither jackets nor umbrellas with us.
We got wet on our way to the U-Bahn, but it was not too bad. 

Blipping a shot of the Ramones Museum. It is worth a visit when in Berlin!!  
The link actually just educated me that the first incarnation of the Museum was in our street - 5 doors up the road!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.