The gang's all here!

Best viewed *larger*

They came in small numbers on the 19th October this year (they came 18th October last year) these are the masses of migrant starlings that have come over from Russia. Every year they come & this is the biggest flock to date. This is taken from the end of the garden & the mighty mature ash tree (hopefully safe for now from the deadly ash dieback which has hit this country, one hopes!) & several hundred of these starlings land in my garden & gobble up all the food fast! But still, amazing sight, I reckon there were around 5000 in this flock - of course not as big as the Somerset gang nor the Gretna Green, not by a long shot - but my own aerial display at the end of my garden, really doesn't get any better & this flock flew over me, the rush of their feathers blew my hair & I smiled as they glided over with so much grace... which then turned into disarray as they broke up in small groups not really knowing where to fly to! (apart from my garden...)

And Larry springs...

Out of the shadows

Working in my studio today. Enjoyed Strictly Come Dancing, then Dad's Army - RIP Clive Dunn, you're all with them now! - & now considering a relaxing evening catching up on here & elsewhere & then bed early(ish) & really hope I sleep. Although it's an emotional few days now, all these things that happened exactly a year ago. I spent a long time in my mummy's room today, just wanting to be close to her in any way I can is helpful yet still so heart breaking xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.