But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Eilean Donan Castle.

On the way to Skye for the boat trip tomorrow. There were a few places I wanted to stop at for a quick Blip, the first being Rannoch Moor which was a big mistake. Once out of the car it took the midges several seconds to find me. On the other hand, the cleggs waited until I had set up the tripod so the pictures I took were very hurried and, consequently, not ones that I would put on public display. It was then a case of running back to the car slapping myself as I went. Every palm print left a smear of blood with a splatted clegg in the middle. I took the trouble to Google cleggs and the first few articles were about this very beast; the images, however, were all about Sir Nicholas Clegg, the one-time Lib-Dem politician and deputy prime minister. Perhaps it's fitting that he should be grouped with these pesky critters. I'm not sure that he ever did anything that merited a knighthood.

Serendipitously, I came across the striking Commando Memorial at Lochaber, a noble monument to a brave band of men.

The final notable stop was at Eilean Donan for a picture of the castle; I really needed to be a little later in the day to get the best lighting, but I'll be passing by again again next week though, as it happens, this was the last day that I saw any significant sun for 10 days so the Blip may be my best of this iconic sight until next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.