But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Commando Memorial.

I celebrated Independence Day by driving up to Skye for a return visit to St Kilda; I always take a slightly devious route as there are photo-ops and a variety of respectable coffee stops on the way (too many for me to patronise each one), all offering a 25p discount if you provide your own cup – a trend of which I heartily approve, even to the extent of carrying a cup when I’m cycling.
 
I’ve Blipped the bronze Commando Monument before, but not with this moody lighting or from this viewpoint, both of which seem appropriate. The men are surveying their original training grounds which make a reasonable landscape when you add in the sentimental value. There’s always a significant number of 5 minute tourists here with their “selfie sticks” - there were two in the original picture who looked quite funny being only visible from the waist up – but not quite appropriate for this shot.
 
Earlier, I had stopped at Rannoch Moor; last year, the assault I suffered at the proboscides (I had to look that one up) of the native cleggs caused me to leap back into the car and hurriedly leave with all the windows open to flush the buggers out. Today, they were conspicuous by their absence and I was able to spend a pleasant half hour with camera and tripod. Every time I pass here (and many other places) I promise myself that I’ll come and spend a day exploring.
 
By the time I arrived at Uig, it was pouring with rain, so I went down to the Hidden Glen where the river Rha had a little more running water than usual; it’s a pity that there’s only the one view of it unless you’re prepare to wade half way across the river and risk being swept away, particularly likely if an umbrella is part of your essential camera gear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.