Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Our home for a week

We're in Holt. Regular followers will know we tried to move here last year but gave up when we couldn't find a house we both loved. But we both love the town, so we're back for a week. This is our cottage; a newly converted property which has been done to an excellent standard; very modern, very comfortable, and very inviting. It's almost perfect; the only downside is that the bathroom was clearly designed by a woman; no shaving mirror, and given there is a roof slope at one side, any man over five foot three tall has to have excellent aim or sit down, if you get my drift. But it's a minor problem.

One other thing; me, Holt and cars clearly don't mix. Last time we were here some anonymous person reversed into my car and damaged it. Today we arrived at the cottage and unloaded; when I moved the car afterwards I got a warning of low tyre pressure. I'll sort that out in the morning, I thought. An hour later W remembered she needed something from the car so we went back, to find one of my rear tyres was completely flat. We happened to be parked next to a tyre repair place so they looked at it and told me I had a nail in the sidewall, but that the other rear tyre was almost bald. To be honest, I knew they both needed replacing; I just hadn't planned doing it on holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.