Dead or Alive?

When I saw the tail of this peeping out from the bottom of a leaf at the pond yesterday, I wondered if it was actually a dragonfly about to emerge from its case, but no, it was simply a nymph case, or an exuvia as Geoff tells me.

On examination, I could see the thorax was broken which was where the dragonfly would have emerged. The white strings are, apparently, the remains of the respiratory system of the nymph.

Excitement therefore over. Maybe one day I'll spot a dragonfly emerging. Len actually saw one the other day drying its wings on a plant next to the pond. I, of course, was out.

Main event of today was having a tooth out. Had to have four injections instead of two because I'm such a baby. I could still feel the tooth coming out. I wish there hadn't been so much filling in it as I got the impression that the root was still healthy. 

I really do look like a crone now.

Alasdair and Chris are back from Bahrain and popped in to see us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.