West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Trump not welcome

One of the good things about my line of work is that leaving the office in the middle of the afternoon to go join a protest is encouraged! My colleague L and I had a meeting and left later than others so our first challenge was to find the others. Instead of going to the start, we waited in the middle of Regents Street for them to get there.

We had a good view of the protest and all the brilliant signs people had come up with. But when I got my camera out I discovered I'd left my memory card in the computer at home. So I had to use my phone and the photo quality isn't so good.

The extras are Trump in a wheely bin, one of the many Americans in the protest, and my colleague C with her 'Scotland hates you' sign.

My sister and her partner must have gone past while I was waiting for my colleagues but there were so many people I didn't see her. We met in the pub later.

The demonstration was huge, good natured, with minimal police presence. Earlier I saw a very small group of 'pro-Trump' people - all white men - standing outside a pub with a line of police around them. I understand there's a bigger 'pro-Trump' demo joining up with facist demo to support the English far right leader (who's in jail) on Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.