Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

One good tern deserves another...

Today we headed to Cemlyn Bay which is renowned for it's tern colony. They have 3 types of tern - sandwich, common and arctic, although I only managed to get shots of two of them - this Arctic Tern and a Sandwich Tern in extras. I found it very difficult to tell the difference between the common and arctic, and there were many more arctic terns than common terns, which I found mildly amusing. 
I was able to practice my in flight shots, which I am pretty rubbish at, as there was a lot of activity. It was SO windy, but just about warm enough to make it bearable to stay out there for a couple of hours. 
We then headed towards Trearddur Bay and had a very nice late lunch and then dropped by South Stack for a quick look. My knees were not up to doing the 400+ steps to the lighthouse but we still had a great walk back across the heather watching stonechats, butterflies and a kestrel hunting. 

Sorry for missing out on commenting, but I'm a bit pooped so they might have to wait until I get home. 
Thanks for continuing to visit my journal. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.