Undeserved treat

Bought my ticket to see Andrea Bocelli nearly a year ago...thinking I would have finished my studies and graduated by now. Amazing how quickly it has come around. I went on my own and was pleased with my seat. He has an amazing voice and sang about 20 songs tonight I reckon. Three of the songs left me with goosebumps on my arms but I have to say that on a general level I was somewhat under-whelemed. He had several other people singing with him and whilst a couple were good I felt a bit critical of the others....maybe I don't have the right to feel that way after all I can't sing. Towards the end of the concert they sang a cover of 'Are you lonesome tonight?' which really sounded a bit pants....the women did this diva-esque ...what I can only call "An X factor warble" throughout (one of the reasons I can't bear watching that programme) I did feel like I was in an X factor audition a little. I suspect if he'd been left to sing it solo it would have been decent....hey ho....Then they sang a really not very good song and the woman next to me said "Oh that lady who just sang sounds nothing like Celine Dion when she sings it" ...Oh God I just sat through a Celine Dion song, really???? Things are looking bleak...

On the upside there are 2 songs I loved which I have never heard of and a cool piece of orchestral music I enjoyed which I noted so at least I have learned something new which was good :-)Here's one I liked I've never heard of before....I'm obviously not a die hard fan!. I am however grateful for having gone and having heard his voice in real time:-) P.S He's not doing movember this year...I barely recognised him....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.