Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Harbor seal pups

Finally a less windy morning ..so after the walk with Maple, we had a lovely row, altho almost too hot.    Very low tide..  The top Mom and Pup were way high up on a rock in our bay..content to nurse, warm up and watch me.   They spend about half the time hauled out of the water.  In this area they are born from June to September.   As I rowed near a little island to the North I could hear a baby seal crying…. the little pup on the bottom was making a lot of noise and managing to climb up on the low rocks, a place I never see them, then swimming to the next, all the time calling out.,  (we sometimes hear them at night )  No Mom in sight.  Unlike most seals that fast while nursing (4-6 weeks)  harbor seal moms leave their pups to forage at sea, possibly because their small body size can’t store enough fat.  I will assume she made it back, altho this was a strange isolated place to see it…. and not in a group or rookery.

Edit: Before dinner we decided to have another row in my white swan boat and tried to talk Maple to come with us... H was rowing, I’m sitting in the stern. She would not come close, wouldn’t get on the float, or near the boat from the dock and then we rowed around to the beach and she went there but was having no part of getting near the boat Dear me... I wish there was one “kid” in that family that likes boats and water... we’re going to work on her! ( extras) I enjoyed my ride!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.