Life through the lens...

By ValC

Mayfly in July.

Another hot sunny day, and decided to visit Rodley Nature Reserve this morning.
Surprisingly there was quite a lot of water in the lagoons.
Sand martins still flying in and out of their nesting site. Probably still feedings young ones.
Only one cygnet. The others have disappeared. No sign of mum and dad either.
The grebes have started nesting again. No sign of theiryoung ones.

We did see a snipe (not close enough for a photo), and also a heron which I have put on as an extra.
However although I didn’t get any photos of the dragonflies, I did manage a photo of one of the many blue mayflies which were darting about everywhere. So decided on that for my Blip today.

PS. I now know it is a common blue damselfly. Thank you Knotman and fellow blippers.

Watching the World Cup Final at the moment.
All equal.
Will leave Mr C too it. I am off into the garden.

If the weather goes down hill from now on, blame us.
We have just bought a new BBQ to replace the one we disposed of before our holidays.
So tonight we are having our first BBQ of the year.
Hope it won’t be our last!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.