earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Back to the Past

A day spent with my mum and a chance also to catch up with my sister. I took the opportunity to capture some oral history, recording almost three hours of mum's reminiscences about her childhood. Her memory is astonishing. She tells her stories so well, many of which I had never heard before. Most fascinating were the tales of her evacuation to Wales during the war. They are priceless.

I paid a visit to the past myself today. I opened the cutlery drawer and pulled out a knife and fork which I had used when I was a kid. There was also cutlery there that dated back to the time of my mum's wedding over sixty years ago. It's been in service all that time. My mum has never been one for getting new stuff just for the sake of it! She never ceases to amaze me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.