earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Wildfire

Back from a few days on the road and feeling distinctly woozy on yet another hot and sunny day. Took a short evening stroll on the moor to catch up with the state of the garden and was horrified to find a wildfire that had just taken hold above where I live. The intensity of the heat being generated was frightening. It wasn't difficult to imagine how quickly it could spread. Thankfully, there was little wind to help its progress. 


I stood wondering what I could do - which was not a lot - when I picked up the distant sound of a fire engine down in the valley. Help was on its way. I was able to follow it as it went into town and then hear its siren get louder as it came up the hill. It wasn't long before the first responders arrived and I was able to direct a couple of them down to the nearest source of water, the current dribble in Backstone Beck. They had large bladders on their back to fill. The others set about the fire with their beaters. 


It was all rather basic but nonetheless effective. They soon had it under control. It made me feel very grateful for our emergency services. These guys had been sitting in their own gardens just half an hour earlier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.