Feeling rosy

It’s been tickling the back of my mind for a few months now; ever since I started exploring the North Yorkshire Moors.

But I did know its reputation.

I’ve cycled Dales hills blindly and without knowing their names which, for me, works wonders.  I don’t really like to know what I’m letting myself in for. Trouble is, I’d stupidly watched a video for this one. Phrases like, ‘as quickly as possible’ and ‘now is the time to change down’ weren’t really helpful as I only have two paces (slow and dead slow) and one gear, from the moment I embark on anything that’s going to be steep. The video footage makes it look epic and I started to doubt whether I could do it or not.

But, after a good night’s sleep, I headed out early this morning before the rain was due.  I started near Pickering so that my legs would have chance to warm up before I arrived at the start.  My first glimpse set my heart rate allegro but that didn’t compare to the vivacissimo that kicked in on starting around the bends.  I met one small white van right at the bottom and he gave me a wry smile as I reflected it right back at him.

My tense moment was after coming round the second hairpin and needing to add a zig and a zag of my own.  My front wheel lifted off each time I turned and it was quite a focus to keep myself upright and onwards.  Two of those, however, and I headed straight up with my head focused in the knowledge that it’s short if not sweet.  Some mosquito-type insect drank to my success at the top - I guess I must have smelled rather divine by that stage - and it’s taken a glug right out of my wrist vein.

Still, with a satisfying feeling, I headed over the top and onwards and downwards on a lovely descent to join a road I’d headed out on in the rain when I went to Whitby.  It was quite a contrast in the weather today with just a little ominous look in the distance.  I pedalled on round, enjoying the wild views before taking another lovely descent back into Rosedale Abbey.  

I’d planned a route out to avoid the same way home and was hoping for a view of Rosedale Chimney (this Blip being it).  I’m surprised the tarmac doesn’t slide down the road when they resurface it by the look of it from here.

I’d omitted to check the steepness of the road out and found myself on a 25% to get my photo.  Ouch, I didn’t really have my head around that but hard work soon makes you forget about complaining.

I was too early for any of the cafes so headed on home with a grin, two spots of rain on the windscreen and a couple of tears in my eyes at the feeling of achievement, good fortune and relief about my body feeling much more on form.

I think the cafe in Harewood must have seen me coming as, for the first time, they served me a triple cheese toastie with my coffee.  Wolfed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.