Here and Now

By Mole

Hearts to Hearts

Most Monday mornings, I celebrate retirement by doing something I fancy just for me. Today I stopped to try to find the pile of heart-shaped stones  that Amy and Jenny showed me several years ago. At the north end of the trail sat a new to me memorial rock covered in heart-shaped hand-decorated stones and a memorial plaque and tree.  The much loved gentleman who lived nearby died in 2017. A touching find.

I braved crossing Willey Creek alone on dubious stepping stones and did not fall in. (Hooray!) The heart-shaped pile of stones had been moved from the bridal path (or my memory is questionable). I found them on a footpath, completely surrounding the trunk of a very old tree. It’s a mystery who started this and why. Now on the south side of the creek, I discovered a path that easily led to the road. So I need not risk a fall on my keister next time.

~ ~ ~
Excerpt from “Unending Love” by Rabidranath Tagore (Audrey Hepburn’s favorite poem by the way)

You and I have floated here on the spring that brings from the fount.
At the heart of time, love of one for another.
We have played alongside millions of lovers, shared in the same
shy sweetess of meeting, the same distressful tears of farewell-
old love but in shapes that renew and renew forever.

~ ~ ~
The memorial plaque says Wiley Creek. The bridge signs say Willey Creek. http://morelandhills.com/en-US/Willey-Creek.aspx

~ ~ ~

Wishing you all a good evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.