Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Great Blue Heron

This morning as we walked past the farm pond that is - it should be noted - a good distance from the road - I leaned down and looked through the fence to see if there was anything on the snag that juts out into the water. There is sometimes a green heron. I saw something on the far end of the snag and then it suddenly dove into the water and popped back up onto the snag with a fish in its mouth! It was in fact the green heron. I got a photo, but not a very good one. See extra.

On the way back I looked again, just on the off chance it was still there, and did a double take because now instead of the green heron there was a great blue heron! I got a much better photo of him. It probably helps - at that distance - that he's a good deal larger than the green heron!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.