a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Too good to be true

Mono Monday: Temperance - too good to be true

"Dreamed last night I was dreaming
Somebody answered my prayer
Cried out over my shoulder
Only the devil was there
Hold no hope for the future
Or good times seeing me through
Too good to be true
Too good to be true


Can't find the floor or the wardrobe
Can't find my way to the park
Life in a bedsitter bedlam
Afraid to go home in the dark
All day today just excuse for tomorrow
Tomorrow just something to do
Too good to be true
Too good to be true


I've given up reading the papers
I've given up watching TV
Hope in hell I'm able to tell
Whatever happened to me
Facing a phase in the future
Hope I've got something to lose
Too good to be true
Too good to be true"

Tom Robinson - Too Good To Be True

I must admit that now that I've started to think about the possibilities I am really rather enjoying this month's Mono Monday challenge of virtues and vices suggested by our host si_b.

Tom Robinson's lyrics inspired by life in Britain in the late 1970s seem horribly appropriate still to life today still - but I won't go on.

If temperance is your thing, then by all means feel free to indulge yourself with a nice glass of bottled water (although I think we would all prefer it if the bottles were made of something other than plastic).  However I must admit that I would hate to have to give up alcohol completely - I really do enjoy a drink from time to time.

But having said that, and before you go away with the wrong idea, I've just added up my units for the last week and can tell you that without making any particular effort I've had a total of just 8 units of alcohol in the last 7 days.  That's not too untypical of my week nowadays -(as long as I'm not on holiday with Incredibish).  So that's the equivalent of half pint a day of weak beer, and a pint on Sunday.  Although perhaps, in view of the subject matter of the photo that ought to be nothing on the Sunday and two pints on one of the other days?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.