Family grave plus one...

Back in Dumfries, and Aunt M is much better today.

The old family grave - more than 100years - was in need of refurbishment. And it is looking good..

Buried here are wee Maggie, aged almost 5, who died in 1913; her father (my great grandfather) who died of asthma in 1925; his wife Mary Rae - she had stomach cancer and died in 1936; my grandmother, Jemima, with whom I often came to tend the grave on a Saturday afternoon; and the ashes of my Uncle George, who died three years ago.

But on the Council burial records there is another body interred. An 85 year old widow of a farmer who lived in Dumfries but died at her son’s farm nearby. I found this out when they sent me the paperwork at the time of my uncle’s death.

No one in the family has heard of this lady. A retired undertaker friend advises, have it investigated. Better sorted out. I’m nervous of the trouble this other family might face.

It is quite likely an admin error rather than a physical one. I tell myself! Does it matter?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.