Spishy

By spishy

Armistice Day

I thought it would be an appropriate day to blip in memory of my Grandfather, Ernest.

He was born in 1896, enlisted in 1914 and initially joined a cavalry regiment. He then joined the East Surrey Regiment and was sent out to France in 1915 to the theatre of war.
He survived WW1 but suffered numerous injuries, seeing action in some of the major battles on the Western Front.
After 1918 he remained in the army and saw service in Turkey and Russia. The boot pictured is something that he acquired in Turkey. I have only ever seen one before and it was in a museum in Bermuda of all places.

My Dad let me borrow my Grandfather's medals for my blip today.

The photograph of him in uniform is from when he served in the Home Guard during WW2.
Sadly, he died long before I was born. I would have loved to have met him.

We will remember them

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.