Country Seats

The day after we bought the Land, I cleared out a load of broken chairs from the pigsty at the top, dreaming of the day we could sit them round a big table, and have guests...

Quite a while ago, took the five with bulrush seats to the one remaining local who still knows how to do them and has the bulrushes (from when the Lake was still the Guadiana River). Yesterday, I started sanding them, and mending what I could. They'll never be perfect, but I like that they belong here (though I did wonder, as sweat poured and dust from the hopefully-not-lead paint got into my nose and throat why we don't just buy new ones...). Have got as far as painting primer onto one of them, trying to decide on colours.

Stayed up too late last night reading a book our midwife daughter gave her Dad, This is Going to Hurt, by Adam Kay. HIGHLY recommended. You will laugh out loud, you will be heartbroken, you will be enraged, you will appreciate the NHS even more, and realize why we need to fight for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.