NellieD

By NellieD

My blip today was from the top of the fireplace in one of my happy places, but tinged with sadness tonight!

The book club I run has been meeting at our venue for 3 years now.  We can get about 30+ people turning up but it was a bit of a smaller turnout tonight with 24 of us.  I think people struggled with the book - The Children of Men by PD James.  Not my cup of tea!

Unfortunately Mr Chef left at the weekend and everyone was really upset at the news as he's a big part of book club.  He's not just the guy that cooks the food, he's an honorary member and it certainly won't be the same without him.  

The lady that took over in the kitchen was really nervous about making sure she did just as good a job with the food, after all she had big shoes to fill!  

It's really easy to complain, everyone is so quick to do it, but I find that it's often more important to thank someone for a job well done.  Since everyone had complemented the food, I felt she should know that and I could see the relief in her face when I told her I had received nothing but positive reports. 

Quote for today:
Everyone appreciates being appreciated.
- Lance Mitchell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.