Hail Mary

We have a new club member who is the brother of a Catholic Bishop of note. He has recently moved from living with the Bishop in Ireland to be cared for by his daughter in Wiltshire.

After lunch today and still sitting at the dinner table, he got stuck in a loop and asked me over and over again to pray for him.

He is very Irish and reminded me of Fr. Fleury, a priest from my childhood. 

In the end, I crouched down to make eye contact and said the Hail Mary. His bottom lip quivered and his eyes welled up. The whole room was quiet and watched. He stared into my eyes and the moments were very intense and moving.

From here, he moved on and whilst Nicola seated him I went into the kitchen. Rosemary followed and she hugged me. We were both right on the edge of a little weep.

Had I been visited by the Holy Spirit or had I been manipulated by a blue eyed charmer?

  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.