rb231

By rb231

The old lie

If Blipfoto's swamped with pictures concerned with poppies today, then let me add mine to the wreath.

I took this at the local Remembrance service where Charlie was carrying the flag for his Cubs. I always get overwhelmed by emotion at these services; the silence; the horn; the old soldiers placing wreaths around the memorial in memory of their fallen comrades, and the young for fallen comrades to come.

It's the utter senselessness of all this 'sacrifice' that intensifies the emotion and the pity I feel for the fallen. I always feel this tragic loss of life we are remembering could have been avoided. All those cheerful vibrant souls, victims of leaders' failure to communicate.

It's important we don't forget, but do we learn from the tragedy? Evidently not. I just hope the wee girl in her army dressing up costume grows up into a world where we're a bit wiser.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.