wet wet wet

Proper rain this morning...the first we have had for ages. 

The blackbirds had left their nest and I could hear some anxious calls from their parents as I picked raspberries in the garden.

Walked to see my friend Lizzie this afternoon. She is so good at  decluttering... I joked that one day I will call round to find that she has given away her husband and dog. (That will never happen!). Still, her lack of attachment to material things is refreshing. I sent Lizzie  this poem the other day because it reminded me of her:

when i moved from one house to another
there were many things i had no room
for. what does one do? i rented a storage
space. and filled it. years passed.
occasionally i went there and looked in,
but nothing happened, not a single
twinge of the heart.
as i grew older the things i cared
about grew fewer, but were more
important. so one day i undid the lock
and called the trash man. he took
everything.
i felt like the little donkey when
his burden is finally lifted. things!
burn them, burn them! make a beautiful
fire! more room in your heart for love,
for the trees! for the birds who own
nothing -- the reason they can fly.
mary oliver

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.