curly

Kale is a vegetable which grows really well in our garden. In previous years, I've grown the black variety (Cavolo Nero) but this year I've added curly kale  and it's so pretty that I decided to photograph it. Apparently kale has been around since at least the Middle Ages. It's really just cabbage without a heart...

I'm always dismayed at work when people leave their side salad. one lady today told me "I can't digest most of it and my grandsons...well they're children, they don't eat salad". They ate all their bacon rolls and crisps but left the salad untouched.

But then I think D and I have what most people would think of as quite an eclectic diet. Real food, all plants, not too much (to paraphrase  Michael Pollan). D cooked tonight and he made a warm vegetable salad of 10 different kinds of veg, topped with red lentil pasta, toasted almonds and vegan pesto, followed by a fresh fruit salad. 

No kale tonight  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.