South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Is this a Speckled Wood butterfly?

This little chap is residing on our ceiling this evening. I can’t see the top of the wings, but having looked at a butterfly guide I think it might be a Speckled Wood. Am I right, do you think? The photo is blurred because the light was so bad and I can’t find how to switch my flash back on (I never normally use it).

Sorry I’ve been conspicuous by my absence, but my mind has been full of the house move at the end of the month. The removers were very slow off the mark, but we finally got some boxes and bubble wrap delivered today. Hubby has been over at the ‘new’ house decorating our bedroom the last couple of days and is going over again tomorrow. We’ve had the boiler serviced, the front door lock changed (it was unusable - fortunately we also have a back entrance!) and tomorrow the plumber is coming to replace the unusable bathroom taps. Then on Saturday we have carpet cleaners coming to remove the doggy stains and slight smells from the carpets upstairs (there was even a discarded bone on the bedroom carpet when we viewed it - yuck! There are limits, surely). I’ve been over cleaning windows and fitting curtains. Still waiting for made to measure ones for downstairs to arrive, and have also only just ordered some net curtains. I shall be washing the downstairs floors on Saturday and also cleaning the kitchen cupboards. We also need to replace doggy chewed Lino in the meter cupboard and got a useful offcut to use, so maybe we can get that done too :-). Sorry if I’m going on a bit, but I want a record of this time. It’s a novelty, not having moved for 28 years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.