Stopping off at Great Grandma’s House

Dear Diary,

Well, actually, it is the site of her house in 1635. It was destroyed by fire in 1711 and the the Old Corner Bookstore was built on the site. Ann Hutchinson, my 9th great grandmother, and her husband had one of the largest houses in Boston until they were banished for Ann’s controversial actions. She dared to preach, women were supposed to stay silent, and developed a loyal following. She defended herself against the charges and spoke eloquently and passionately.

One of those followers was Mary Dyer, my 8th great grandmother, who was hanged on Boston Common in 1660 for advocating religious tolerance towards the Quakers.

Later, cousin Louisa May Alcott frequented the Old Corner Bookstore which was also the Ticknor and Fields publishing house which published her books and the books of other notable American authors like Longfellow, Emerson and Thoreau. She famously said about her decision to remain single, “I prefer to paddle my own canoe.” I come from a long line of strong and outspoken women. Maybe that’s where I get my strong convictions from!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.