Ashleyn15g

By Ashleyn15g

Lake Travis

Several weeks ago, I decided I wanted to go to the coast for my birthday. After doing some research, I found that Port A had still not made a full recovery from Hurricane Harvey. Most of the nice hotels were still being restored, and the chain stores were charging outlandish prices knowing this. 

I knew I wanted to have one last vacation with Juaquin and my family, and I really wanted it to be by the water. Perhaps, to help qualm my cruise craving. We'd had never been to Lake Travis, despite it being the same distance as the coast. I found a beautiful condo by the river. Two bedrooms, two baths, full kitchen, and living room. BOOKED. 

It was finally the day to head down. It did not go as planned, and we got off much later than desired, but that didn't matter. We'd wake up besides a gorgeous lake. 

The drive went by fast. We stopped in Seguin at JJ"s Cafe. The food was delicious. Dad and I had chicken and dumplings. Juaquin and Melissa had chicken fried chicken. Mom had a salad. 

Mom made such a big fuss about her order, that the owner actually came out. It's sometimes embarrassing to listen to her order. Luckily, it only improved our experience. He was super nice, and solidified the southern hospitality feel. 

We arrived at the condos at nearly 10 PM. No exploring, just straight to sleep. Tomorrow Melissa and Dad are going fishing, and Juaquin and I kayaking. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.