My Mum

It has been quite a traumatic day.
I have driven to and from Suffolk to visit my mother who is in a care home; she has been poorly but we are not surprised.  She is 91 and has a heart condition which means that her heart and lungs will be increasingly unable to cope.  Today she was very wheezy and breathless - she is not eating much either.
When I last visited (a few weeks ago) she was very different - there has been a distinct step-change in her condition. We knew this would happen but it's still a bit of a shock. Today, she was wearing somebody else's glasses, did not have her teeth in place (goodness knows where they are) and had only one hearing aid. I have sorted with the care home for a dentist to visit and an optician as well.  It's tricky to keep on top of things from a distance, although my brother (more local), can also chase things up.  The journey to Mum was ok (the usual couple of hours) but the return was awful and took over three hours; dreadful traffic.  

I really think that life is not good for Mum now - such effort and no fun.  Am I being completely heartless is hoping she is not long for his world? I wouldn't treat my dog as I am having to treat my mother - she is staying alive but is that what it's all about these days?

Mum has been finding our summer heat difficult so I was able to take her out into the garden where she could enjoy the breeze.  Extreme old age is no fun at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.