lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

Mt. Rainier with fairy fluff floating around her flanks. 

My sister and I hauled our butts out of bed early today and drove to the NW area of Mt. Rainier NP to hike up Tolmie Peak, which has a lookout on it. That is where I was standing when I took this photo. That is Lake Eunice below. See the extra for a view up to the lookout from the trail below, next to the lake. You can just see the square shape of the lookout right in the middle of the blue sky. My sister said - we'll be up there in 30 minutes and I didn't believe her, but that's about how long it took. Sat there and ate our lunch, watching the show - the mist/clouds swirled providing peeks of the mountain. Very awe-inspiring.

It hike wasn't too hard but the altitude did make me feel a bit sluggish, especially that last mile up to the lookout. There was an abundance of avalanche lilies by that lake - so gorgeous. 

She and I agree that we are extremely fortunate to live so close to this national park. And to be healthy enough to experience it like this.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.