South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Village Fair

This gleaming beauty pulled up beside me, together with the two other cars you can see in the background, and the man got out to discuss with the others where they should park. The road was generally shut to traffic and other classic cars were parked over the road outside the Co-op. Because of this, they were deciding they could double park (they had arrived late for the event and there were no more spaces left). I had just consumed a delicious (double) ice cream cone bought from a van that was acting as a roadblock a bit further along. I had also had a slice of indulgent cake and a cup of tea with two friends from church in the village hall (provided by the WI of course). I enjoyed a wander round the fair, bought a cute tea cosy (which doesn’t fit the tea pot, but I’m keeping it to use on the cafetière which is narrower!) a book called ‘Deep South’ which is about travels around the impoverished little towns (fascinates me) and some greetings cards. Also got a dwarf lavender and a fuschia for the new garden. We are hoping to get over there and plant them tomorrow as anything left in a pot always dies in our house...

My new made to measure curtains also arrived today. They are a bit unexciting and neutral coloured and smell a bit weird, but seem to be well made. I chose them online and they arrived very creased. I have ironed one pair (they are soooo heavy, but the other pair are even heavier as they’re for the French windows). I hope the smell will go once they’re hung up and I can open the windows! Will hopefully get these hung tomorrow.

The carpets were cleaned in the new house today, so my husband was over there for a number of hours. He spent the time cleaning the kitchen cupboards which apparently had liberal sprinklings of dog hairs in a number of them - I know there were two dogs in the house, but they can’t have been in the cupboards, so it’s a mystery! He said the cupboards are now sparkling and the carpets look great. I’m so grateful not to have to clean the cupboards myself so was thrilled!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.