Shades and shadows

Quite a similar view across the Brisbane River to yesterday's blip. And thanks to all of those for the kind words. I tried to reply to a few, but got lost after a while.

Today despite having zero sleep on Friday evening because jetlag kicked in immediately (unusual for that to happen to me on the first night I'm somewhere) I managed to keep busy. I went for a swim first thing in the "heated" swimming pool in the hotel. Well, it is heated theoretically (or rather gently) but although covered it's basically outside and the air was freezing at 6am. It's winter in the tropics and although the sun is nice and warm, the evenings are pretty cold and the nights positively frosty... And the days are pretty short - about 13 hours. After that, I did battle with the city's cycling scheme and used a bike to get to the St Lucia campus of Queensland University, where I was attending a workshop. I managed, more or less, to stay awake before heading back to the city, again by bike. It's a hillier place than I expected and those heavy bikes make it quite hard going.

Around 6pm we met up with some friends, and had drinks and dinner. Back to the hotel I fell asleep within minutes of getting in the room. Out for the count.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.