wrperry

By wrperry

Ingesting a Droplet

I spent part of the morning at a birthday party for a friend's two year old granddaughter.  The little ones were adorable, showing their personalities as they interacted with each other and "shared" the toys.  I took some photos with my new 55mm lens, but I didn't think I should blip any without the permission of the parents.  So, I took my macro lens out to the patio when I got home.  I didn't last long.  Apparently the mosquitoes were waiting for me, and I had multiple bites within minutes.  Fortunately, this sweat bee was on one of the trumpet honeysuckle flowers.  I was fascinated watching him, because he seems to be ingesting a droplet of water.  He used his mouth parts to scoop it in.  You can see the reflection of the flower in the water.  At least I think it's water because I couldn't imagine this could be nectar.  Anyway, he'll be well hydrated.

Your comments, stars and hearts have been so appreciated over the last several days.  I've been very lucky to have seen some beautiful summer wildlife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.