G&T Time

It was a long, hard day at Waddesdon Manor for me, although I loved every minute. I had already fixed to help out with Visitor Services at North Fountain in the afternoon, meeting and greeting on and off the shuttle buses. Then an email request came in for extra help in The House so I offered to do the morning there as well.
I ended up on Main Door for the morning session where we check visitors' tickets, and advise them if their bags need leaving in our free bag storage and checking that the start of the House tour isn't getting too crowded. It was busy, with House tickets fully booked, but I love being in that position - the first point of contact for an enjoyable visit for our guests. So non-stop talking and greeting.
At 1.30 I switched roles and left Main Door in the capable hands of others, heading for the Visitor Services building. Here, I was helping out with taking in and returning bags and picnic baskets for safe storage, as well organising multi-media handsets for those that wanted them. Again - non-stop activity, not one moment when there wasn't somebody wanting something.
At 4pm I was down to North Fountain to monitor the boarding of the shuttle buses which take visitors back to where they have parked their cars. I was on my own there; it wasn't too hard however but, again, non-stop action.
So by the time I arrived home around 6, I was exhausted and the G&T much appreciated. It's great fun as a volunteer for such a prestigious venue and, although I don't get paid, the rewards are great. It's a real opportunity to make a difference to somebody's day by easing the logistics for them, and we get lots of thanks and praise.
Only one awkward couple today, but we can't please everyone all of the time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.