Sky Ballet

After a really lovely day yesterday where I felt happy and relaxed, a blooming awful day of bloatedness and stomach cramps. There really is no rhyme or reason to this IBS and I'm simply going to stop trying to work out why - like epilepsy for  the children I used to teach - no drugs, no diet, no lifestyle can control or predict it. It just happens - live with it.
So, onto the evening and the hens bedtime and watering of the plot. There was no one to ask to do the hens so I just got on with it! I was aware of the drone of aircraft and looking up saw two planes flying so close together they looked joined - I thought maybe it was one plane pulling a glider, and in the next moment the two parted. No not a glider but two planes which then went on to perform a dance in the sky. They came together, they zoomed up and then down, did rolls, did loops - it was mesmerising and so beautiful. I felt like I was a voyeur of two peoples sheer joy and passion of flying on a calm, beautiful summers evening. It seemed like a dance of courtship in the air. They then flew out of sight and I continued with my hen duties.
I noticed Greta was not acting normally, she was hunched up, not coming to eat the treats. I managed to catch and inspect her as she was preening her back end which was rather messy. I took her to the water trough and cleaned her, suspecting a blockage. I was aware of the sound of the planes again and looking up saw this pyrotechnic display going on! Having cleaned Greta I rushed to get my camera. I missed getting the full display but this gives you some idea. Shortly after they flew low over the allotment and away with full rainbow lights on down the length of their planes - quite magical! 
On getting home I googled air displays and came up with this team - The Fireflies Aerobatic Display Team! They perform at air shows and can be hired for special events like festivals, weddings, birthdays. I have no idea who they were performing for, but what a sight it was and I felt so fortunate to have been able to see it in my happy place of the allotment - just me, the hens and the beauty of my plot and the evening. I just wish I'd taken my zoom lens with me as I had thought of doing as it seemed like for once we might get a good sunset - but then thought my usual lens would be better suited! So a rather poor photo of a most wondrous event, but it just has to be my blip and memory of this day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.