Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

A Bad Man

Up to Edinburgh this morning. The plumber was coming to see about replacing the shower in the flat. After he'd gone I went off to town with the camera.

I thought I'd find plenty evidence of vice in the High Street to get a shot for the Mono Monday challenge ..... 

This pub sign on the corner of the Mound commemorates an Edinburgh character of the 18th century. Deacon Brodie had many bad qualities, but lets just stick to his greed.  The keys  he's holding are the ones he copied and used to rob a bank.  A respectable citizen by day and a thief by night, he's supposedly the inspiration for RL Stevenson's story of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde. He ended his days on the gallows, but rumours persisted down the years that he'd somehow survived and fled abroad.

It's typically Edinburgh to accord him opprobrium and sneaking admiration at the same time.  

Back in my student days I used to eat lunch in here weekly - some society I belonged to met there. I can't remember what it was. I don't much like the look of it now.

Thanks again to si-b for hosting Mono Monday this month, it has been a thought-provoking exercise.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.