Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Sphinx Island..people!

These are the very nice people who own Sphinx Island,  the little island closest to us. (In all the views from the top of our hill)   We went over there for drinks and catch up.  They have been there longer than we have and were so nice when we were first here… in 1990.  always fun to talk to Canadians about politics!  :-) and  they have a sport court our boys love!


Seal pup report:   she’s still hanging out at the dock and I swear she appears when we do.  The extra is just after we were out in the tin boat, she surfaced there at the engine, and then seemed she was swimming toward me looking right at me as I was going up the ramp.   I’m feeling slightly hopeful as she seemed stronger today…  Just MAYBE Mom is feeding her at night when no-one is around??  and there are lots of little fish around the dock.   Only 50% of seal pups make it to one year and it’s a very healthy population.  Also I read that it takes $10 worth of fish ($1 a pound) to feed one seal one meal while being rehabilitated … a big food bill.    so let’s hope she is OK on her own..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.